What I’ve Learned on Twitter…

I couldn’t think of anything to write about this morning for here, so I busted out my trusty list of stuff to write about. The only one that seemed like a good idea was ‘Things I Learned on Twitter.’ So, what did I learn on Twitter you may ask? Well, first of all, people are fucking crazy and amazing.

In the world of ‘I want it now,’ Twitter is fantastic. You can follow all the major news outlets, local news, sports teams, celebrities, bands.. you name it and it’s probably there to follow. Getting the latest news and gossip are some of the major draws of Twitter.

For me though, my adventures on Twitter started out as following a band, Muse, and then it turned into a tweet-fest when they were at the Grammy Awards a few years ago now. I met some pretty wonderful people on there who I consider some of my closest friends. One who I was lucky enough met in real life- her and I always joke that we are twins born a year apart. These friendships I’ve formed with people who I never thought I would meet are some of the most important in my life. In high school, I realized something about all of the friends I had at the time. They were superficial. I went through a really hard time and nearly dropped out my senior year. Not one of my friends, even the person who I thought was my best friend didn’t even ask how I was. Granted, part of that was my fault because I didn’t want those people to know I was in the mental hospital for , I think ten or fourteen days- which I didn’t even need to be there and I think that messed me up more than anything. But yeah, I didn’t want people to know I was there, and so I pushed those people away. When I went back to school after that, some people asked and I just said that was out sick.

Even after the hospital, things went back to normal for a little bit, but then I became more and more withdrawn from the world and stopped talking to my friends. The thing that I find strange now that I’m looking back on my senior year, those people I considered friends didn’t seem to care that I essentially gave up and didn’t ask what was going on or even offered to help. So, how’s that for friends? Pretty shitty.

The whole point of that little back story is that on Twitter, people are willing to give help for anything. And they are people that I’ve never met and probably never will meet. The thing about Twitter that I like, is that it’s anonymous, and there are only a few people on there who know me in real life. When I first tweeted, I was rather fake because I didn’t know if I would continue to use Twitter. After a while though, I started showing the real me on there- political views, feelings and stuff like that. For me, Twitter was like a glorified chat room where you could only use 140 characters at a time to talk.

I guess this is going to be another shorter post. My brain is still in overdrive with my Batman thing I’ve been working on. But the whole point of this, what I’ve learned on Twitter is that while people are fucking crazy, they are pretty wonderful too if you are lucky enough to fall into a crowd of great people.

Leave a Reply

