Regrets and a Few Other Things

Here it is Friday night, I’m at home sitting at my computer trying to think of something to post. I had this idea while I was at work the other day since this is my 30th post, that I would make a post of thirty things that I want to do this summer. Yeah.. nope. I started a list, and most of the things on there are movies that are coming out this year that I want to see. So, that’s not really a list of things to do.

Maybe I could make this a post about regrets. I’ve got a large one from last Friday. After work, I went out with some friends after work and ended up consuming at least six at most possibly eight of a particular alcoholic drink in two and a half to three hours- which ended up being 24 to 32 shots of liquor in that short amount of time. I’ve been told that I would have been fine had they not set a tray of twelve shots of tequila and because of the smell of the tequila I puked. On the table. In a beer pitcher. Even a little bit on the person sitting next to me. It was a bad night after that. I remember everything before about 8:30, but if you were to ask me what happened after that, I could not tell you. So, I suppose that’s a regret since it was my anniversary with my SLP. I remember sitting on the toilet at home, sobbing into a bucket while puking saying, “I’m sorry, so so so sorry,” over and over again.

Other things that I suppose I regret would be not pursing certain things in high school. Like actually doing my home work to get better grades to go to college to get a better job. Don’t get me wrong, I love the job I have now, but at this point in my life, I thought I would be better off. Back to the high school thing, I regret not asking a boy or two out for more than one date. Sure they were fun dates, if you could even call them that, but I got scared and didn’t want to be attached to someone I went to high school with. There was always that whatever you want to call it of dating someone from high school, then saying you’ll stay together through college and then you do, but realize once it’s too late that you were better off apart. Main thing is, I regret that I didn’t see where the relationships would have taken me.

Another thing that I regret is something that I’m still struggling with now. I don’t know that I want to stay with my SLP because of not knowing if I actually truly love him. It’s something that I regret because again, I’m too scared to see what would happen if I were to leave him. I just know that right now, it’s easier to stay. With him I have a place to live, a car to get myself to and from work and other places that I need to be, and those other things like computer, television and stuff like that. I guess it’s more of a possible future regret if I don’t do something about it soon.

I also regret that I start things and never finish them, but who doesn’t you know?

I did also want to just have a post of my normal rambling. The last week and a few days, I’ve been training the newest person in my department at work. I lucked out on this because I’ve worked with this person for two years previously in the last department I was in. I trained her then too, so I know how much I can push. My manager told me that I’ll be training someone who is starting in July and I’m terrified. I think I’ve done a horrible job training, but that’s just who I am I think. I think I do a bad job at everything. Maybe because I set my standards stupidly high so that I never reach them and I constantly fail. I suppose that’s something to regret as well. I’ve probably missed out on some great opportunities because of that. I never thought that I would miss being on the phone as much as I have the last few days where I’ve been listening to calls with the new person while she did all the talking in case she had questions about what was being asked of her. I miss having the slight freedom of being able to talk to one of the people I consider my best friend. I miss being able to listen to music in one ear to make the day go by faster and it also helps forget the people that are rude and demeaning over the phone. I miss being able to write a post for this whatever you want to call it thing that started out as a dream log and turned into something more where I can figure my thoughts out. I miss not having to have people depend on my to learn something. One of the things I like the most about my job is the easiness of it. It’s simple. A customer calls in, they want to talk to a person and you connect the call to that person. Sometimes you’ll have to do a little extra work to dig up the claim the customer is calling about, or try and defuse a situation where the customer is pissed off about something that is out of your control. Yet all the customer needed was someone to that they could vent to but then they say, “Look, I know it’s not your fault, but I just really needed to talk to someone about it,” and you offer to get them in touch with someone that can help them and most of the time they will say no because you helped enough and they are ok now just because you sat there listening to what they were saying.

Another thing that I miss is something from my old job. Sure it sucked not having the benefits of health insurance and actual vacation days where you didn’t have to work some massively fucked up hours just to make sure you reached 40 hours each week to have enough money for bills. But I miss the freedom of being able to take lunches and breaks whenever and being able to watching or listen to something playing on Netflix all day. Honestly though, I would trade that in a heartbeat any day for the stability of being a full time employee and the benefits. Some day I may look at other positions within the company, but right now I feel very secure in my position. I do my job, and apparently I do it well even though I half ass it most of the day.

Lately I’ve been trying my had at writing some Batman something or another. I don’t usually share my writing with many people, but I did end up sharing what I had typed up with my friend. She said she liked it so far, but I don’t know. I wonder if she was just saying that, lol. I know that she would never lie about something like that to me, but I’m so not confident in my writing skills and think that everything I write is just shit. I also feel like the ideas that I have and want to write are things that have already been written, the ideas aren’t good or they don’t match the characters I’m writing- or at least attempting to write. I’m not confident in a lot of the things that I do. I think that’s probably another thing that I regret. Maybe if I’m brave enough, I’ll post what I’ve got written on here on a different page or something. So far though, I’ve been writing it for my own amusement with no thoughts of really sharing with other people. I just shared with her because I wanted an opinion on something because, like usual, I thought it was pretty lame so far. I’ve got a short list of ideas I want to try out with this thing. Hopefully they aren’t all as horrible as I seem to think they are.

Speaking of writing, there is a Star Wars related thing that I’ve been working on FOREVER, lol. I started writing it in 1999 after I saw The Phantom Menace and decided that Obi-Wan needed a special female Jedi in his life. Over the years, my character I created has had some changes made to her and I really like what she is now. I have quite a bit of that written out and so many more ideas for that one in my head as well. I really wish I had a pensieve from the world of Harry Potter so I could extract those thoughts from my head and bottle them for when the mood to write strikes. I find myself struggling to think of something to write when I sit down and plan on writing, basically forcing myself to write instead of waiting for the right time to write. My ideal writing time seems to be when I’m laying in bed before falling asleep or taking a bath. Those are the times I am most relaxed and the ideas are easier to form. I think that’s common for most people- having to be relaxed and open to the ideas in the mind. Forced writing is terrible and just doesn’t make for exciting or dynamic things in whatever is being read. I often wonder if my blog, or whatever you would call this, is forced writing or more organic and flowing. I would have to say that due to the rambling nature of my writing on here, it’s more organic and it comes from my heart and mind instead of being forced writing that has no feeling. A few times my own writing has brought me to tears. Not really on here, except in a post from last week I think it was where I was talking about the aging Bruce Wayne/Batman where his body was basically failing him. No, there may have been another time I was nearly in tears writing a post that was truly from the heart and my feelings on something.

One night I was in bed trying to write a good bye bit for my Star Wars thing, I have a tendency to skip around in that one. It’s been on going for so long that I’ll write something where Obi-Wan and the character I created are younger one moment and the next moment, I’m writing something where they are older. So anyway, I was trying to write the bit where Obi-Wan and my character part ways until she dies, and for some reason, I pictured it in my head, but putting it into actual words on paper hurt my heart so much that I was in tears trying to write it out. I’ve come to love my character and the thought of her having to say good bye to the person she’s shared her life with, her best friend and the person she loves more than anything was just killing me inside. I would hate to be in her position. Each time I think about that part, I see the same thing in my head like that night I tried to write it. It’s just in my head so clearly that I’ve wondered if maybe in a past life of mine, my soul was in a good bye like that with a soul mate.

Speaking of soul mates and past lives, I’ve had some dreams that were so vivid and so real that it felt like I was actually there. Those dreams have made me wonder if they were truly a past life of mine. I think shit like that is pretty awesome and if I could, I would love to walk the halls of my soul to see where it’s been and who it’s been with in the past. I have this feeling that my soul is probably middle aged. I’ve talked with a friend about this and she says that her soul is an old soul, and if you knew her, like I think I do that would be a correct assumption. Her personality and actions are wise, like she’s been around, seen some shit you know? I feel like my soul still has a lot of learning to do, so maybe it’s a young soul. I don’t know, but one thing I know is that I think my soul was at least around during the World Wars. I’ve had multiple dreams before about a couple during World War II where the newly wedded husband has to go off to fight. The husband and his new bride write letters back and forth. One day, she writes him and tells him that he’s going to be a father by the time he returns home. Excited by the news, he writes a letter back telling her that he’s got a feeling the war is going to be over soon. Oh man, was he wrong. Later that day, he’s killed. In my dreams, his death has varied from being shot down over the German country side, to being killed by bombings to being shot in the head, heart or another random body part or area, to being gutted by a bayonet during hand to hand combat with enemy soldiers. For the wife, she ends up miscarrying and is devastated when she learns that her new husband has been killed in action. Feeling like her life is over and she has nothing left to give to the world, she enlists to be an army nurse and demands to be sent over seas. Sometimes she is sent over seas to the war front in Europe, other times it’s to the Pacific theater. Other times she takes her own life.

Something in regards to souls and reincarnations, I just had a thought. It’s probably not that original actually, and now that I think about it, I think my friend mentioned it one day when we were talking about this. But each time you die, your soul is split. Like not bad like Voldemort soul splitting to become immortal, but like a little piece of it goes missing. Maybe it stays with the body that was currently carrying it, maybe it goes onto a different person from the rest of the soul. Or maybe it’s totally split in half. If that’s the case, maybe it’s why it’s possible to have multiple soul mates. I think the people that you meet in your life are in your life because they carry part of your original soul. Hopefully that makes sense. It’s starting to get late and I need to get to bed. I’m actually planning on doing some yard work tomorrow before church.

With that, I will leave you and wish you all a good night and happy dreams. Until next time.

Leave a comment