Being Sick and Dreams

Let me tell you, dreams while running a fever are rather interesting. I don’t know that they are stranger than my normal dreams. Yesterday, I was home sick, puking my guts out when I woke up, and again later in the afternoon/early evening. My dreams while I was sleeping were focusing around things that were hot, like I fell asleep on a frying pan next to a grilled cheese that was being made. In another dream, I was walking around in a desert wearing all black clothing with a winter coat and snow boots on, then I stumbled upon an oasis, stripped down to my birthday suit and jumped into the water. It started out as relaxing in cool water, but then it turned into a boiling pot with macaroni noodles in it. Apparently I was hungry for something with cheese. But considering I couldn’t even keep saltine crackers and water down, any food was out of the question.

Somehow, I managed to get nearly 20 hours of sleep. I do feel a bit more rested, but I wish I could have slept a little longer, or maybe even taken another day off work. That would have been fabulous. Though I honestly really truly hate calling in. I always end up feeling worse calling in than how I feel when I am sick. Not awesome.

This is probably only the second time I remember throwing up while being sick since I was a little kid- so 20 years or so. Other times I have thrown up were alcohol induced, so those don’t count.

Anyway, speaking of dreams, I’ve had some lately where I wake up and forget most of what I’ve dreamt about. That’s a shame really because the bits and pieces that I remember are pretty awesome. So, the rest of this post is going to be about those dream bits that I can remember.

Dream 1: I was in Russia walking along a bridge and was covered and had like little shops and stores. I remember walking out of one of the shops and bumping into this tall lady who was dressed all in black. She had a hooded cloak on that was pulled just far enough over her face that it was casting a shadow so you couldn’t see her facial features except her eyes that were glowing blue. I told her I was sorry about bumping into her, and she just looked at me confused. I told her to hold on a moment, got out my phone and opened up the Google translate app and used that to tell her that I was sorry in Russian. She looked at me again, even more confused and then said, “I understand that you are sorry young one, I just don’t understand what you are sorry about.”

I was shocked that she didn’t understand I was apologizing for bumping in to her. I explained that to her and she replied that she was unfamiliar with the actions of the locals. I told her that I was not from Russia and that I was on vacation. She looked happy then, asking if I was from Pandoleenaka. I told her no, I was from Wisconsin.

Dream 2: I was at a house that was occupied by my aunt and she was having a family get together. I remember trying to get ready for it and I had some hot rollers in my hair to make it curly. I went to take one of the rollers out of my hair, and as I started to unroll it, just came out with my hair still attached to it but it was melted to the roller. I freaked out and took the rest of the hot rollers out and was lucky that none of the other rollers melted my hair. Later on in that dream, I was at my parent’s house helping out with a garage sale they were having and they asked what I wanted for dinner so I said stuffed crust pizza from Pizza Hut. They ordered it and I ate it. Then later again still at my parents after the garage sale was done for the day, I took off running in the back yard like I was getting ready to do the triple jump from track and field, but instead of landing in a pit of sand, huge angel wings sprouted from my back and I took off flying in the air. I was flying as high as the wings could take me and then diving to just barely above the ground before flying up again.

 

Leave a Reply

