Dreams and Church

So, I had a weirdish dream last night and typed up as much as I could remember and put it here if you would like to read it. Probably not though cause it’s not really that interesting.

Another thing I’d like to touch on today since it is Sunday, is church. I didn’t realize how much I actually missed going to church until I started going again. For some reason I feel like it gives me a partial purpose in life. I say partial because I still don’t know what my full purpose in life is yet, though I secretly hope it’s something spectacular and special. But with my luck it probably won’t be. I’m not going to push my religion on you and say that if you don’t go to church you soul is going to be damned to hell for all eternity. I’m also not going to say going to church is the greatest thing in the world either. I will say that I think I enjoy going is to see people who care about me and welcome me no matter how I look or how much weight I’ve gained since they have last saw me. There is a safe feeling about going to church because no matter who you are or what your background or things going on in your personal life, these people at my church will always accept you for who you are and not what you are. Ever since I was a baby, my parents have taken my brother and I to church every Sunday for the 8:00 service. When my brother got his drivers license, I think he was given the choice of going or not going and from what I can remember, he still went with us. When I was in I high school, I still went every Sunday with my parents until the church added a Saturday night service that started at 5:00. There were some weekends that I got a triple dose of church because of various things the senior high kids did and when I was part of a music group at church. After I turned 18 and moved out of my parents house, I pretty much stopped going to church except for Christmas and Easter and a few other times. Though starting this year, I’ve gone more than I have in the last few years. I have also been thinking about joining that musical group again since they are still providing the music for the Saturday night service every other week.

I have also volunteered to be a table parent for this thing my church does each Wednesday during the school year called Logos. Though I won’t start until this next school year since the current one is almost done. When I told my SLP about it, I knew he’d have a bad reaction. He’s not too thrilled that I will be gone every Wednesday for a few hours each night after work. I didn’t see what the big deal was about it. I’m actually excited and looking forward to doing it. I did this program when it first started 15 years ago and continued until I moved out. I was having a conversation with SLP’s step mom last night and I told her about my plans and what his reaction was.  She didn’t see anything wrong with me wanting to do this and said “What’s wrong with that? You will probably enjoy it and grow your circle of friends… THAT would be the problem.” I told her that my SLP has said on multiple occasions that he doesn’t like my church because it’s so big and constantly growing and that it is “too big for their britches.” She also made a point when she asked if my SLP ever supports my interests, and if not, take him up on counseling just to point it out. I told her that he doesn’t really support anything I do unless it benefits him in some way. Unfortunately, the more I think about that, it’s true. I was under the impression that part of the spouses job in a marriage is to always support their other half in life and in their interests.

I’ll have to write another post about my SLP later. He just drives me up the wall with his behavior and honestly deserves an entire post on his own, sadly. It’s also sort of late and I need to get to bed so I can get up for work tomorrow. For those of you that are reading this, I hope you all had a good weekend and the week won’t drag on too much for you this week. Next weekend enjoy your chocolate bunny and marshmallow Peep induced comas, I know I will!

Leave a Reply

